Australian Visa Types

Written on 20 April 2022 by Erina Morunga
Australian Visa Types

Q. What is an Australian visa?

A. An Australian visa is official permission granted to a non citizen that allows them to legally enter or remain in Australia.

All visas have conditions attached to them such as work rights, specified stay periods, study rights and more.

People who don’t hold a valid visa are at risk of facing serious consequences and should seek advice urgently.

Visas in Australia range in purpose and criteria.

The common visa groups are:

  • Visitor visas
  • Studying and training visas
  • Family and partner visas
  • Working and skilled visas
  • Refugee and humanitarian visas
  • Other visas which include Bridging visas, Resident Return visas, Special Category visas (subclass TY444) and more

The visa types that we specialise in are:

  • Skilled Independent visa, subclass 189 (New Zealand stream)
    • Residing in Australia continuously for 5 years and prior to 19 February 2016
    • Earned a minimum of $53,900 for 3 years (exemptions may apply)
  • Resident Return visa, subclass 155
    • Entered Australia before 1 September 1994 as a New Zealand citizen
    • Was previously a permanent resident of Australia
  • Partner visa, sublass 820/801 and 309/100
    • Sponsor – Spouse or de facto partner is an Australian citizen, permanent resident or Eligible New Zealand citizen
  • Child visa, subclass 820
    • Sponsor – Parent is an Australian citizen, permanent resident or Eligible New Zealand citizen
  • New Zealand Family Relationship visa, subclass 461
    • Sponsor – must be a New Zealand citizen who is NOT an Eligible New Zealand citizen
  • Bridging visas
  • Visitor visa, subclass 600

First step to getting help is to reach out to us

Our Happy Clients

Join our Regular Newsletter for Updates

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.